47 Days of Doctor Who–Day #46: Best Post-Regeneration Moment

Welcome to Day 46 of my 47-day series about the revival version of Doctor Who (2005-present). I’ve come up with 47 topics / questions to answer, all of them basically positive and upbeat about the program. Each day (or as often as I can actually write these–so far so good!) I’ll pick one of them at random (using this convenient random number generator) and then write up an answer.

Why 47? It’s my favorite number.
Why Doctor Who? It’s my favorite show.
Why the modern day Doctor Who only? Simply because I remember it better.
Why only positive stuff? Because really, I write enough snark.

So, today, we don’t spin the Random Number Generator.  There are only two numbers left, and I already decided to cheat and make 47 the final day, so it means I don’t have to see how many spins of the Random Number Generator it takes to get to number 42, to know that today’s topic is…

“Best Post-Regeneration Moment”

We’re talking here about our first moments with a new Doctor, always at the very end of a his predecessor’s swansong.  I’m not really counting those first minutes with a new Master or a new River Song or a new, um, Time Lord general.  So this means really there are only a few choices.  And my choice isn’t Matt Smith, even though he’s my favorite Doctor, as I found his opening freaking out to be a bit off-the-wall, not really having any the nuances that his later manic behavior contained.  And I’m not talking about Peter Capaldi, even though that was quite a good little scene with him freaking out about his kidneys and not knowing how to fly the TARIDS.  I think its weakness is just that it feels a bit familiar, like we’ve seen it all before.  No, this time I’m picking

The 10th Doctor – Parting of the Ways

It was the first regeneration of the new series and for a lot of fans, I gather, represented quite a startling moment.  But what I enjoy about it, especially in hindsight, is how “normal” the new Doctor (David Tennant, in this case) treats it all.  He doesn’t start freaking out about not knowing what he’s doing or whatever, he just comments on how weird it is to have new teeth.  It’s shocking because it’s so mundane.

And then he just gets on with life, and do we the viewer.

Click here for a master list for this series.

Leave a Reply

