47 Days of Doctor Who–Day #35: Guest Character I’d Be Most Excited to Find Out Was Going to Come Back

Welcome to Day 35 of my 47-day series about the revival version of Doctor Who (2005-present). I’ve come up with 47 topics / questions to answer, all of them basically positive and upbeat about the program. Each day (or as often as I can actually write these–so far so good!) I’ll pick one of them at random (using this convenient random number generator) and then write up an answer.

Why 47? It’s my favorite number.
Why Doctor Who? It’s my favorite show.
Why the modern day Doctor Who only? Simply because I remember it better.
Why only positive stuff? Because really, I write enough snark.

So, today, we spin the Random Number Generator, and it lands on 30, which means
today’s topic is

“Guest Character I’d Be Most Excited to Find Out Was Going to Come Back”

Doctor Who has had lots of cool characters over the years that would be a lot of fun to see again.  Of course, you don’t overload the show with that sort of thing, but done well it can be a treat for fans.  I already did a post on my favorite One-Time Guest Character which you can read here, but as much as I like Sally Sparrow, she’s not the guest character I’d be most excited to hear was planning on making a return visit.

Jenny, The Doctor’s Daughter

It’s true.  I’d be surprised to hear that Sally Sparrow was returning, but if I clicked on my Doctor Who news website and read that Georgia Moffett was making a return appearance tellilng us the next chapter in the life of the Doctor’s sort-of daughter, I’d be pretty excited.  She was a great character who definitely has more stories in her, and it’d be a lot of fun to see how she relates to Peter Capaldi’s Doctor.

Actually, as I write this, I can’t help but to realize that this relationship might be a lot like the one the Doctor has with Clara, or at least it has the potential to be.  Both looked like young ladies who didn’t just want to be with the Doctor, but wanted to be like the Doctor.  Both appeared to die in front of the Doctor, and both later wound up in their own versions of the Doctor’s endless exploratory journey through the universe.

How long is it until someone writes a fan fiction in which Jenny in her spaceship runs into Clara in her transdimensional diner for a bit of girl talk and a rip-roaring adventure?  Has anyone already written this?

Another thought is that Jenny is a pretty good candidate for her own series of stories in Big Finish audio format.  I mean, if we can have the modern series’ River Song and Winston Churchill starring in adventures, than why not Jenny?  I’m sure I’m not the first one to think of that.  What’s the holdup?

Day #36 tomorrow!

Click here for a master list for this series.

Leave a Reply

