47 Days of Doctor Who–Day #28: Favorite TARDIS Interior Design

Welcome to Day 28 of my 47-day series about the revival version of Doctor Who (2005-present). I’ve come up with 47 topics / questions to answer, all of them basically positive and upbeat about the program. Each day (or as often as I can actually write these–so far so good!) I’ll pick one of them at random (using this convenient random number generator) and then write up an answer.

Why 47? It’s my favorite number.
Why Doctor Who? It’s my favorite show.
Why the modern day Doctor Who only? Simply because I remember it better.
Why only positive stuff? Because really, I write enough snark.

So, today, we spin the Random Number Generator, and it lands on 31, which means
today’s topic is

“Favorite TARDIS Interior Design”

Back in the old days, the TARDIS set was pretty plain.  It started off with some random pieces of furniture, but eventually those disappeared and for a good portion of the show’s run it was just an empty room with the control console in the middle and some white circles all over the walls.

All credit for the 1996 TV movie for making the TARDIS console room an interesting place again, a trend that was only increased when the revival series began in 2005.  Since then, they’ve established that the changing of the design is the equivalent of changing a desktop theme on a computer, and since then we’ve seen three main designs for the room, broken down as Seasons 1-4, Seasons 5-7 (first half) and Seasons 7 (second half)-present.  Unsurprisingly, there was another design for the War Doctor in The Day of the Doctor.

Well, I don’t really have strong opinions about this but overall I’d have to pick for my favorite..

The Original 11th Doctor Interior – Season 5-7 (first half)

I think what I really like about it is the introduction of the staircases.  The TARDIS console is, for the first time, raised above the ground level of the room, giving the room a sense of vastness that we’ve never seen before.  I also thought all the odd retro elements on the console were fun, like the typewriter or the pinball control or the old-style telephone.

The least impressive design was the one that followed, during Matt Smith’s last half season.  It was certainly big, but empty.  It got a marked improvement when the 12th Doctor came along and kept the same room, but completely redecorated it.  The addition of all the books, the chalkboard, and the like gave the room a lot more personality.

Incidentally, when I was looking all this up, I stumbled across this site which is pretty thorough for anyone wanting to read up about all of this.

Click here for a master list for this series.

 

2 thoughts on “47 Days of Doctor Who–Day #28: Favorite TARDIS Interior Design

  1. Absolutely agree with you here. Eleven’s original Tardis interior was my favourite. I love the spacey-wacey-ness of it and the electric colours and the sense of space and layers. Brilliantly designed.

Leave a Reply

