47 Days of Doctor Who–Day #25: Time Lord Trick I’d Most Like to Learn

Welcome to Day 25 of my 47-day series about the revival version of Doctor Who (2005-present). I’ve come up with 47 topics / questions to answer, all of them basically positive and upbeat about the program. Each day (or as often as I can actually write these–so far so good!) I’ll pick one of them at random (using this convenient random number generator) and then write up an answer.

Why 47? It’s my favorite number.
Why Doctor Who? It’s my favorite show.
Why the modern day Doctor Who only? Simply because I remember it better.
Why only positive stuff? Because really, I write enough snark.

So, today, we spin the Random Number Generator, and eventually it lands on 32, which means the topic of the day is

“Time Lord Trick I’d Most Like to Learn”

In the show, Time Lords are an ancient an advanced race that look just like human beings, but have all sorts of different qualities an abilities:  two hearts, a “respiratory bypass system”, incredible intelligence (so they could invent time travel), long life, and of most famously, the ability to regenerate.

It’s funny that until today I never imagined what “regeneration” would actually be like if you went through it.  It’s quite strange to think of suddenly changing body and personality, even if it meant I kept my memories and general core values.  No wonder it’s often treated as such a traumatic experience.

So with that in mind, I would not choose to be able to regenerate.  Instead, I’d pick

The ability to understand and speak any language

Now, this would be useful.

Part of my work is to travel to different countries and then to write and produce films which are appropriate to the language and culture of the location we are in.  This involves a complicated translation process which can be difficult and also prone to mistakes.  The ability to understand any language, if it could be turned on and off at will, would make this very useful.  Plus there’s lots of times when it would have come in handy just in the course of normal travel, or when meeting people in the international community that I’m part of.

Now, I know that in the show this isn’t just a function of the Doctor, or Time Lords in general, but primarily of the TARDIS itself.  I also know this isn’t something exclusive to the revival series of Doctor Who, but it’s there that the concept has received most of its explanation and development.  So…I’m going to count it.

Click here for a master list for this series.

 

Leave a Reply

