I was nominated for a “Unique Blogger Award”

A while ago, I was nominated by fellow blogger PJ over at Gallifreyan Ramblings for something called the Unique Blogger Award.  So thank you PJ for thinking of me, and even listing me as a “fave”.

Of course, the Unique Blogger Award is really just a friendly way to link to someone else’s blog and try to provoke some fun or interesting thoughts.  The idea is that I’m supposed to thank the blogger who nominated me and post link back to their blog (done!), answer their three questions, include a quote and a meme of my choice, and then tag 8-13 other bloggers and ask them three new questions.

Oh, you are also supposed to link back to the creator of the award, who is named Kate Gold, and who blogs over at https://teengirlmeetsworld.wordpress.com/

Of course, participation in all this is optional, and at first I thought I might decline, simply because I was on my vacation to the United States when the link came through, and didn’t have as much time to be writing, and my actual internet connection wasn’t so hot.  But now I’m back and I decided to go for it.  So here we are.  First up…

The Meme

Well, actually, I wanted to use a meme I saw a while ago that had a picture of Abraham Lincoln and read, “‘The best way to influence political opinion…is through memes.’ – Abraham Lincoln,” because it perfectly captures my opinion about memes in general.  Alas, I could not find it, and searching “Abraham Lincoln memes” yields more ridiculous stuff than you can imagine.  Oh well.  Instead, you get this:

10565043_10151982029602395_4460960321293244799_n

I wrote about this previously, but it caught my eye because it combined three of my favorite things:  Star Trek (as the setting is clearly on the bridge of the Enterprise from the original series), Doctor Who (the blue box is the famous Tardis of that long-running science fiction series) and They Might Be Giants, the alternative-rock band who once did a song called Fingertips.  Actually, it was a collection of 21 brief song portions strung together seemingly randomly.  One of them’s entire lyric are the words in the meme.  So…a pretty obscure sort of in-joke that is right in line with my sense of humor.

Anyway, onward now to…

The Quote

This is one I heard spoken myself, by Kathryn Immomen, a comic book writer who is married to Stuart Immomen, one of my favorite artists.  They were appearing together at Supanova, the Australian pop-culture convention, a few years ago when I first attended it.  She was talking about various personal projects that the couple have worked on together over the years, and she said something like:

“You know, you can’t do the second thing until you do the first thing.”

I don’t know if she was quoting someone else or not, but this struck me as quite wise, and is something I’ve repeated on several occasions.

To me, the comment has to do with the fact that at different times, creative ideas and urges happen along, and at the time, they seem like the highest target you could shoot for.  As time passes, you begin to see the weaknesses and limitations of what at first seemed so clever, and eventually you go on to new ideas that are (hopefully) better and stronger.  But often it’s impossible to skip those early ideas and just jump ahead to the better ones.  It’s when we actually put in the hard yards of making those early ideas happen that we develop our craft and unlock the potential for better and stronger work.

And now, finally

My Answers

Question #1 – Which historical figure would you like to meet and why?

Presumably, this means historical figures who are no longer living.

This took me a bit to think about.  Considering my vocation (missions) and my area of work (film making), you’d think I’d be interested in meeting the Apostle Paul, Hudson Taylor, or Buster Keaton.  But I find myself more drawn to either Jane Austen or Jack Kirby.

Jane Austen is of course the famous author of Pride and Prejudice and numerous other English literature classics.  Pride and Prejudice is one of my favorite books, and has been since I read it for 11th grade English.  It would be interesting to talk to her and find out how much she is or is not like her literary heroines.

Pride and Prejudice

Jack Kirby, on the other hand, is one of the most important artists in the world of comics, having created or co-created a myriad of famous and influential characters:  the Fantastic Four, Captain America, Thor, the X-Men, Kamandi, Darkseid, Mister Miracle and many many more.  It would be fascinating to pick his brain and to glean anything at all about his creative process or perspective.

Ultimately though, I’d probably go with Jane Austen, simply because she is more removed from my life and circumstances.

 

Question #2 – If you could choose to live in a fictional world, which would it be?

This one also took me a minute, simply because most of the fictional worlds I can imagine that I’m drawn to (eg. Doctor Who, Star Wars, Tron) seem like ridiculously dangerous places where I would be afraid of dying at any turn.  But then, it occurred to me…

I’d live in the world of the Legion of Super-Heroes.

Legion of Super-Heroes 6

And not just any Legion of Super-Heroes world, I’m talking about their world from the 1960’s, during their time in Adventure Comics.  If you don’t know, the Legion were teen-aged superheroes…from the future!  A thousand years in the future (usually), which means I’m really talking about visiting the 2960’s.  Because even though that place had some dangerous baddies (Time Trapper, Computo, the Fatal Five, Mordru), they were, for the most part, quite restricted in their evil deeds.  Certainly, you don’t get the same vibe that you do later that you might just abruptly die when Titan explodes, or the Moon explodes, or Element Lad goes crazy and just turns you into a wisp of dust with a wave of his hand.

Instead, you get the vibe that the 30th Century is bonkers-crazy, including things like ice cream from Mars, robots that pick up litter and planetoids where giant puppets who controlled by children from another dimension dance and play!

Legion of Super-Heroes 9

Legion of Super-Heroes 7

Legion of Super-Heroes 2

And of course, you also have a certain group of teen-heartthrobs who are pretty much adored by everyone (except for super-villains, that is!)

Legion of Super-Heroes 4

Legion of Super-Heroes 10

The world of the Legion of Super-Heroes, particularly in this era, was an unashamedly optimistic place.  Sure there were big threats, but there was greater hope and a sense of possibility, full of bright colors, endless alien races, and crazy-advanced technology that genuinely seemed to make people’s lives better.

Legion of Super-Heroes 8

I for one would be fascinated to go and visit.  Who knows?  Maybe I could even score one of those sweet anti-gravity belts!

Legion of Super-Heroes 5

Of course, there’s also the very real possibility you might run into a disembodied brain in a jar (there seem to be tons of those around in that universe).  But that’s a risk I’m willing to take.

Legion of Super-Heroes 1

You could even hang around until the 2970’s if you wanted without losing most of that upbeat charm, but then you’d have to deal with the awkward turns of fashion that we got there…

Legion of Super-Heroes 12

 

Question #3 -What music do you listen to?

Oddly enough, I don’t listen to huge amount of music.  I mean, I like music, but I’m not one to always have my headphones on.  And if I do, I’m just as likely to be listening to a Big Finish Doctor Who audio adventure.

But I like the Beatles.  And Simon & Garfunkel.  And the soundtrack to Les Miserables.  And I’ve already mentioned They Might Be Giants. And thanks to a mix-tape gift from a friend years ago I have a bit of a thing for folksy alternative rock, though I don’t listen to lots of albums from many individual artists.  There are songs here and there, and occasionally a “Best of” album that sort of covers everything I’d want.

 

My Nominees

OK, after some thought, I decided to nominate for this award ten different blogs which are all new to me.  Blogs I have never read before.  I’m just going to turn on my WordPress Reader and find blogs that that talk about things that are of interest to me, though I’ve not read them before.  I’m looking for two that talk about Star Trek, two that talk about Doctor Who, two that talk about movies, two that talk about comic books, and two that talk about, in some fashion, Christian missions.  (Or at least, they have at least one post on the pertinent topic).  Then I will list them here, in no particular order.  Sound good?  OK, here I go, don’t go anywhere…

The Creative Works of James Harrington
Master of Something I’m Yet to Discover
Every Last One
Twenty-Four Frames
Comparative Geeks
The Domain for Truth
Keith & the Movies
Upside-Down Books
Serendipity
The River Walk

OK, done!  That took a little longer than I thought.  I tried to skim people’s posts to at least get some sort of sense of them.  They’ll be more of an opportunity to do so in the future, because I’ve gone ahead and “Followed” all these people (something I’m normally very cautious to do).  If nothing else my Reader should be filled with all sorts of new material to peruse.

Now, finally…

My Questions

Ok, here goes.

 

  1. If you could have one super-power in real life,  what would it be, and why?
  2. What is the most important value to pass on to your children (or students, or disciples, or whatever is appropriate)?
  3. If you had to spend two years in a well-stocked Antarctic bunker with no contact with outside world with one other person, who would it be?  (For the sake of argument, let’s imagine that you’ve each got your own bedroom and a shared lounge area, kitchen, and bathroom.  You have no internet, phone, radio, or television, but you can bring books, music and movies.).  Answer this in two ways:
    1. First, imagine we’re talking real life here.  So if you have a spouse and children, and you pick your spouse, that means that your children have no parents for the next two years.
    2. Second, forget real life and just answer the person you think you’d most enjoy spending that time with, regardless of real-life consideration

 

Now, just as was originally expressed to me, there is absolutely no pressure upon anyone to actually participate in this.  If this sort of thing annoys you, if you are too busy, if you just don’t want to, feel free to ignore all of this.

But if you’d like to then I’d be genuinely interested to hear your answers to these questions, “strangers” that we may be.

For those who are interested, here are the Award’s rules, succinctly put for your convenience:

The Unique Blogger Award

  • Thank the blogger who nominated you and include a link to their blog.
  • Answer their 3 questions.
  • Include one meme and one quote you really like.
  • Nominate 8-13 bloggers to receive this award.
  • Ask your nominees 3 UNIQUE questions.
  • Add a link to the awards creator: Kate Gold – teengirlmeetsworld.wordpress.com

Hope to hear from you!  Until then…

– Ben

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “I was nominated for a “Unique Blogger Award”

  1. This is a lovely and well-done post.l Congratulations on a well-earned award. As you must have noticed, I really don’t accept these awards and having for several years. So thank you very much for thinking of me. I’ll have to pass, but I very much enjoyed reading you.

Leave a Reply

