Batman v. Superman is going to be (I’m pretty sure) soaring, heart warming, and inspiring

How do I know?  It’s easy.

Remember this trailer?

annoying forced WordPress line break

annoying forced WordPress line break

Man of Steel was the film which brought Superman back to the big screen, a full seven years after his last disappointing outing in 2006, which in itself had come out a full nineteen years since his previous, even more disappointing appearance.

I remember when I first saw this trailer.  I thought, if this movie can capture the spirit that is on display here, the emotional vibe, the sense of grandeur…well, then it’s going to be fantastic!  This is exactly what I’m looking for in a movie about Superman!

I mean, I was also hoping the movie would have a competent script, but in general I thought if the film just retains the take on the character and his world that we see in the preview, than I’m going to love it.

Then of course, the movie came out.

Now, Man of Steel has got it’s good points, and it’s got it’s bad points.  People have different opinions about it, but I haven’t heard anybody argue that the movie is soaring, heart warming, or inspiring.  No, critics and apologists alike are more likely to throw around terms like “explosive,” “epic,” “gritty,” “brutal,” or even “spine cracking.”

And now, just in the last day or so, the new trailer for the follow-up film, Batman v. Superman:  Dawn of Justice has dropped.  Here it is:

annoying forced WordPress line break

annoying forced WordPress line break

The trailer has got some interesting things in it.  We get Bruce Wayne and Clark Kent facing off in their civilian identities as well as in their costumed personas.  We get Lex Luthor being sort of weirdly and giddily evil.  And we get both Doomsday and Wonder Woman in big money shots.

But what tone does this trailer (and the other promotional material we’ve seen so far) lead us to believe the movie will have?  There are attempts at humor, no doubt, but for the most part, I’m thinking “intense,” “gritty,” “harsh,” and “brutal.”  Sound familiar?  It’s not exactly what I’m looking for in a movie about Superman.

But…I have been fooled before!  Indeed, Man of Steel turned out to be almost completely the opposite sort of film than the trailer indicated.

Maybe Dawn of Justice will be as well!  Maybe Dawn of Justice will be the hope-filled, soaring, epic, inspirationally majestic Superman film that we’ve been waiting for.  Maybe I’ll love it.  Maybe it’ll be everything I want in a Superman film, in spite of all evidence to the contrary.

It might be.  It could be.  It should be.

The example of history demands it.

2 thoughts on “Batman v. Superman is going to be (I’m pretty sure) soaring, heart warming, and inspiring

Leave a Reply

