Thankful for the trivial things, too

It’s Thanksgiving! Actually, it’s not.  But that’s when I first started working on this post.  I was thinking of the fact that I have so many things to be thankful for – family, friends, my broader community, my calling, my relationship with God.  But normally, on this blog I talk about movies, TV, or comics.  So this time around I started thinking of lines of dialog from memorable TV shows – those bits that may have become distorted by memory, but they’ve never been forgotten.  Here are ten, some unchecked, but I think are close enough to be recognizable.

Know any of them?

“What does a yellow light mean?”
“Slow down!”
“What…does…a…”

“What do you think, fifty bucks?”
“I don’t know, it’s your first, it’s twins…I don’t know. I’d give her $100.”

“Not a very convincing argument, since I’m already dying anyway, unless I can find the antidote. I owe it to my young friend since I got her into this. So you see, I’m not going to let you stop me now!”

“I’ll hate you for the rest of my life!”
“Let’s hope it’s a long and healthy hate.”

“Ivan, did you see the sun rise this morning?
“Yes.”

“You’re not changing their future. All you’re doing is making their present miserable.”

“No ice cream for dinner tonight.”

“Oh…sorry. Hey, are you free for dinner tonight?”
“Yes.”
“All right…then it’s a date.”

“Why did you say six months?”
“Why did you say five minutes?!”

“As God is my witness, I thought turkeys could fly.”

Leave a Reply

