Why “Blue Towel Productions”?

I started making movies when I was a kid, around 11 years old.  A few years later, I got the idea that all young film makers do that my films should have a “production company” name behind them.  I started dwelling on it, and eventually came up with “Blue Towel Productions.”

Why?  Well, I’m actually not sure where the name came from.  It may have been in part inspired by the prominence of towels within The Hitch-Hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, my favorite book (radio series, record album, tv series, interactive computer game, etc.) at the time.  Beyond that, I’m not sure.  But it’s stuck ever since.

In the old days, I tried to stick an actual blue towel in as many of my projects as I could.  There was even a specific blue towel that I would use repeatedly.  But that’s all behind me now.

Over the years, there’s a lot that I’ve been able to be part of for work and ministry.  But all along, films and other audio-visual stories have always been my hobby–something I enjoyed because they were fun to make, watch, and share.  And that, primarily, is what this site is about.

Leave a Reply

